Confederacion Internacional de Pelota a Mano (CIJB) Mundial Llargues 1996-Present

CIJB Logo [Reference: 1]
1996I MundialSpainNetherlands
1998II MundialSpainFrance
2000III MundialSpainNetherlands
2002IV MundialSpainNetherlands
2004V MundialSpainItaly
2008VI MundialNetherlandsSpainBelgium
2012VII MundialNetherlandsColombiaSpain
2014VIII MundialBelgiumSpain
2018IX MundialValenciana*BelgiumNetherlands
Confederacion Internacional de Pelota a Mano (CIJB) Mundial Llargues 1996-Present [Reference: 2]

Note: *Comunidad Valenciana is a region of Spain considered a country in CIJB similar to Wales and Scotland being regions of Britain considered countries by FIFA in Soccer


Spain won the first five World Championships (Mundial) in the Llargues mode of Pelota a Mano (Hand-Pelota) from its inception in 1996 to 2004, Netherlands has won two since, with Belgium and Comunidad Valenciana winning the other two.

Pelota a Mano is a team Handball sport similar to both GAA Handball and Basque Pelota. The CIJB (Confederacion Internacional de Pelota a Mano) has been organising European Championships since 1993 and World Championships since 1996.

Llargues is one of the three main Modes of Pelota a Mano along with One Wall and International.



[1] CIJB (2015) logo_cijb [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 15 May 2018]


[2] CIJB (2017) Historial de Los Campeonatos Internacionales de la CIJB [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 14 August 2020]


Thanks to Enda Fahy

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 14 August 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.